Jammu and Kashmir

Welcome to Jammu and Kashmir

Jammu and Kashmir, often abbreviated as J&K, is a region located in the northern part of the Indian subcontinent.

  1. Geography:

    • Jammu and Kashmir was a region with diverse geography, including mountainous terrains, valleys, and plateaus. It was bordered by the countries of China, Pakistan, and Afghanistan.
  2. Capital Cities:
    • The summer capital of Jammu and Kashmir was Srinagar, while Jammu served as its winter capital.
  3. Political History:

    • Jammu and Kashmir acceded to India in 1947, and its special status was provided under Article 370 of the Indian Constitution. From August 2019, the region was reorganized into two separate Union Territories: Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.
  4. Culture and Diversity:

    • Jammu and Kashmir was known for its rich cultural diversity, influenced by Hindu, Muslim, and Buddhist traditions.
    • The state celebrated various festivals, and the Kashmiri cuisine was renowned for dishes like Wazwan, Rogan Josh, and Kashmiri Pulao.
  5. Tourist Attractions:

    • Jammu and Kashmir was a popular tourist destination, known for its breathtaking landscapes, scenic lakes, and religious sites.
    • Dal Lake and Gulmarg were famous tourist spots in the Kashmir Valley, while Vaishno Devi Temple in Katra and the Amarnath Cave were significant pilgrimage sites.
  6. Economy:

    • The economy of Jammu and Kashmir was primarily based on agriculture, horticulture, and handicrafts. The region was famous for its apple orchards and saffron cultivation.